Coming soon to The Novice Yogi!

Standard

As I mentioned in my last post, I have some exciting news! I have a couple of big things coming up for this blog, and naturally, you guys get to hear all about it.

The first is that breathe is offering a challenge based on Baron Baptiste’s book 40 Days to Personal Revolution from April 16 to May 25! The challenge involves taking five studio classes per week and attending one “lifestyle” workshop (so long as the class requirement is met). Topics range from nutrition and digestion to backbends and headstands, with information on detoxing, meditation, and essential oils thrown into the mix. I am so excited to get to participate since I missed it over the summer. I’ve already begun reading Baptiste’s 40 Days book, which includes different breakdowns of poses and practices for each week of the challenge along with advice to keep you motivated. I’m also getting myself trained to go five times a week now so it’s a smooth transition in 28 days. Best of all, to keep myself on track, I’ll be blogging about my progress. Let’s see if the program is as truly transforming as it says it is!

The other big announcement is that famed yoga teacher Seane Corn will be teaching three workshops in Rochester in May (right at the end of the 40 Days challenge). I’m signed up to go to her all-day immersion on Saturday May 26! Some of the workshop will deal with things like chakras and meditation, but the rest of the 6+ hours will be an intense yoga practice. Naturally, I will let all of you know how it turns out. (And hey, if you’re in the area, you’re welcome to join me there or in the 40 Days challenge! It’s always nice to have a partner to keep you motivated!)

This afternoon, I’m off to a workshop on how knowledge of chakras and essential oils can augment your yoga practice. The proceeds for this go to Off the Mat Into the World’s annual SEVA challenge (bonus: Seane Corn is the organization’s founder!). I’ll let you know about it later!

Motivation is key over the next couple of months. What are your tips for staying motivated for a challenge (a workout, a creative project, or anything else)?

One response »

  1. Pingback: Monthly Yoga: March, Aerial Yoga « The Novice Yogi

Leave a Reply

